Making video games

Heading back to town.

Heading back to town.

Got a member killed.

Got a member killed.

I have been wanting to make video games for as long as I can remember.

A couple of days ago, I rediscovered RPG Maker in Valve’s Steam store. I was thinking about it but decided against it some time ago.

I learned they have been making steady upgrades to it and the latest release is RPG Maker VX Ace. Comparing the versions on their site, it looks ok.

Then I discovered that they have a free lite version. I promptly downloaded it and started playing around with it. As usual, I would get stuck and have to go look at whatever tutorials they have online, which is a lot. Youtube, RPG Maker forums, and a slew of other sites have tips, tricks and stuff.

I decided to make my first game be simple. Then I made the simple error of posting what I am doing on Facebook and a friend expressed interest. I got back into working on my game, looking at tutorials, and stuff, I decided I need to make the game bigger.

Then I hit a snag. It is too easy to bite off more than you can chew. I had expanded the map too big. Just filling it with map stuff would take time. The really long part would be filling it with encounters and stuff. I toned it down to around 50×50 map. I have limitations with the lite version so that should be ok.

I might get it done as a simple, first game in a day or so and upload it for people to check out.

2 thoughts on “Making video games

    • I made a sample game. It is on my wall Facebook wall somewhere and leads to a publicly shared Google drive folder where the game is at.

Leave a Reply

