Ask Correia 14: How to be a Professional Author

Great stuff. Ok. I admit it. I am a wannabe writer. I haven’t put much down on paper/computer screen for over ten years. I was reading William Bernhardt?’s red sneaker book on writing (cannot remember which one), but he said to commit to writing like it is a job. It is a job. Schedule it like a job. Show up on time and do the work. I haven’t been doing the work lately and it shows as I have nothing to show for it. I did write a 50,000 word monstrosity last year for nano. I had some good feedback on it. The rest of those I showed it to have been silent. I need to go back look at it. Edit it, check for things I don’t know it needed at the time. Hammer and forge it into something that might be good or it might not. Hell, I can always say, “I built this!” and be proud of that fact. – John

Monster Hunter Nation

This post is a result of a couple different questions that have popped up, and it is also related to that interview I did with Eric James Stone that was posted a few days ago. I got into a discussion on the comments there, ended up typing a bunch, and figured I might as well turn it into a blog post.

This one is aimed at the aspiring authors or the new authors who want to make a living at being a professional author. This isn’t aimed at hobbyists or people who want to be college lecturers who write an award winning book once a decade. If that’s your thing, awesome. Good for you.

Compared to many authors, I’ve really not been doing this for that long. My first self published novel came out in ’08, was picked up and professionally released by Baen in ’09, and my 10th

View original post 4,248 more words

2 thoughts on “Ask Correia 14: How to be a Professional Author

  1. “Six and a half thousand resident nanocameras, drifting in the air like fish semen, all burned out at once.” is a line from Empty Space by M. John Harrison. Just so you know.

Leave a Reply

