The 2nd Amendment

Edit: I found out that the link I put in was not liked by WordPress.com. So I took it out and put in the content I had in my other blog (which is a WordPress.com site). Go figure.

Here are my thoughts on the 2nd Amendment. It isn’t a comprehensive, know it all post. I hope it gets my point across.

As read from my pocket The Declaration of Independence and the Constitution of the United States of America (Cato Institute):

“A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.”

Now, I try to be well read. To think for myself. I was taught in school that the first ten amendments are the Bill of Rights put in to protect the people from their government.

I would think that it is a good thing.

Currently there is a raging debate going on that has a great many people arguing about the individual’s right to bear arms. Do they or don’t they have the right to bear arms?

It is a simple yes.

Now, people have argued that the people cannot possibly resist the might of current military forces and thus is a nail in the coffin for the people clause in the 2nd Amendment.

http://www.theatlantic.com/national/archive/2013/01/why-the-citizen-militia-theory-is-the-worst-pro-gun-argument-ever/272734/

Really? Then why are we still fighting over in Iraq and Afghanistan? The fighters over there are not an organized military force like the U.S. Armed Forces and other nation’s forces. Yet, they are not defeated. They still fight on. What gives?

http://www.guncite.com/gc2ndobs.html

Here is an in depth look at the creation of the 2nd Amendment. It is well worth the read.

http://www.constitution.org/2ll/2ndschol/89vand.pdf

Conclusion for of above is:

“As the constitutional debates prove, the framers recognized that the common
public purpose of preserving freedom would be served by protecting each individual’s right to arms, thus empowering the people to resist tyranny and preserve the republic. The intent was not to create a right for other (pg.1039) governments, the individual states; it was to preserve the people’s right to a free state, just as it says.”

More information about the 2nd Amendment

http://jpfo.org/filegen-n-z/six-about-2nd.htm

Believe in what you want. It is a Free Country after all.

6 thoughts on “The 2nd Amendment

  1. I’ve been surfing online more than 3 hours these days, yet I never discovered any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty price sufficient for me.
    In my view, if all site owners and bloggers made good content material as you did, the internet might be a lot more
    helpful than ever before.

  2. Hello just wanted to give you a brief heads up
    and let you know a few of the pictures aren’t loading correctly. I’m not sure why but I
    think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different browsers and both show the same results.

  3. Greetings! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to
    give a quick shout out and say I truly enjoy reading through your articles.
    Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that deal
    with the same subjects? Thank you!

Leave a Reply

