Writing Tools Part Unknown

I forgot how many posts I put up on Writing Tools. I think this might be Part II or Part III.

Anyways, I think I have discovered the Writing Tool I have been looking for.

Scrivener.

Originally made for the Mac, it has been ported over to Windows. Also there is a linux beta version.

The linux version works perfectly on my archlinux netbook. Synced to my dropbox and I am a happy camper, er writer.

The thing that helped me drop money on Scrivener was that I discovers a blog that has working discount for Scrivener which can be found at http://smworth.blogspot.com/2012/02/scrivener-coupon-codes.html

The discounts range from 20% to 50% if you are a winner in Nanowrimo. Meaning you wrote a novel of 50,000 words during Nanowrimo.

Reasons I like Scrivener.

It helps keep me organized. Seriously, I am really bad at keeping things in one spot. I have notes all over four harddrives, three computers, thumbdrives and across the internet. I guess if things go down, I have backups. Note: I have used and liked yWriter. Unfortunately, Linux doesn’t like yWriter and I cannot get it to work. The mono that is needed for it hasn’t been updated and that is that.

I can do fullscreen without distractions. I have several free programs that do this, but then I have to port it to organize it. I am lazy.

There are a lot more features but this is what I have so far.

Leave a Reply

