Writing with a plan

I have been following Dar Writes blog. Found a section with a whole bunch of links that are for writers a month or so back.

Gone through a few of the links, but one has led me to buy a book on Writing Fast. I didn’t buy it right away until I checked it out first.

I liked what I saw and picked it up. Very useful information. It gave me something I lacked.

A process.

This is something I have put into my toolbox.

Up to this point, I have several shelves of how-to books on writing. Not just writing, but books on nearly every aspect of writing.

Or so I thought.

I was missing something else. I would sit there at the keyboard, in front of the monitor with liquid story binder xe or ywriter or roughdraft or the latest word program and hope I would get it right with minimal rewrites.

I didn’t truly realize that people would write a huge amount of material. Then edit it until it resembled a “hopefully” publishable work. That would entail draft after draft. Rewrite after rewrite.

Unfortunately, I had no clue what would is considered publishable.

I had notions of what a beginning, middle and end was.

Then I happened to find Storyfix.com

Larry Brooks had something to say. Lots of it.

I read his Story Engineering.

It gave me something everything else I have read has lacked.

Something concrete to work toward.

Something tangible. A real goal.

Books that I have read earlier danced around the issue and never, ever laid down fundamental gridwork that I can work towards. Guideposts. Milestones as he says.

Awesome stuff.

November National Writing month is upon us and I was caught still working on reading Larry’s material. I don’t really care right now. Today I looked at my current novel I have been working off and on for the past few years. I discovered that putting something against a flexible blueprint and asking tough questions can make a story better and stronger.

At least I am very excited and invigorated again.

Leave a Reply

